MLS announces Los Angeles Football Club owners

MLS announces Los Angeles Football Club owners

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On October 30, 2014

Out with the old and in with the new. At least that is how it feels with Chivas USA leaving and Major League Soccer announcing the new owners of the LA2 franchise that will begin in 2017. It may or may not be called Los Angeles Football Club, or LAFC.

The list of owners announced today was rather impressive. The three guys on the top are the big founding partners, Henry Nguyen, Tom Penn and Peter Guber. Also included are Mia Hamm, her husband Nomar Garciaparra, Vincent Tan, Magic Johnson and motivational speaker Tony Robbins. Right now there are 22 owners listed. Yes 22! That is enough for a small-sided game between just the owners.

“We are thrilled to welcome Henry Nguyen, Peter Guber, Tom Penn and their owner partners to Major League Soccer,” said MLS Commissioner Don Garber.  “This visionary ownership group will chart a course that will further elevate the sport in this great city and, combined with a new state-of-the-art stadium, accelerate us down the path toward becoming one of the top soccer leagues in the world.”

The club is already on the hunt for a new location to play at in Los Angeles when the enter the league in 2017. Having this diverse set of owners should help in that hunt.

The new Los Angeles team’s brand identity, along with the front office, coaching and administrative staff will be announced at later dates.

With the addition of the new Los Angeles club, MLS will become a 22-team league in 2017 as a new expansion team in Atlanta will also begin play that year. Two more expansion teams will be added by 2020.