2014 MLS Allocation Order – As of July 23

2014 MLS Allocation Order – As of July 23

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On July 23, 2014
  • 2014 Allocation Order, DeMarcus Beasley, Marco Pappa, Maurice Edu, Trades

The first big deal of the summer transfer window has been made. Houston traded up to get the top allocation spot from Toronto. Midfielder Warren Creavelle was sent in return for that top spot. Houston is looking to sign DeMarcus Beasley with that top spot.

Again, here are the rules regarding the Allocation Order:

The allocation ranking is the mechanism used to determine which MLS club has first priority to acquire a U.S. National Team player who signs with MLS after playing abroad, or a former MLS player who returns to the League after having gone to a club abroad for a transfer fee.* The allocation rankings may also be used in the event two or more clubs file a request for the same player on the same day when the discovery period opens in December. The allocations will be ranked in reverse order of finish for the 2013 season, taking playoff performance into account.

Once the club uses its allocation ranking to acquire a player, it drops to the bottom of the list.  A ranking can be traded, provided that part of the compensation received in return is the other club’s ranking. At all times, each club is assigned one ranking. The rankings reset at the end of each MLS League season.

*Designated Players of a certain threshold – as determined by the League – are not subject to allocation ranking.

Here is the updated 2014 Allocation order (as of July 23):

  1. Houston Dynamo (swap with Toronto on July 23)
  2. Columbus Crew
  3. FC Dallas
  4. DC United (swap with Philadelphia on Jan 14)
  5. Vancouver Whitecaps
  6. Chicago Fire
  7. Montreal Impact
  8. San Jose Earthquakes
  9. New England Revolution
  10. Colorado Rapids
  11. Chivas USA (swap with Seattle Sounders on Dec 11)
  12. LA Galaxy
  13. New York Red Bulls
  14. Toronto FC
  15. Portland Timbers
  16. Real Salt Lake
  17. Sporting KC
  18. Philadelphia Union (Maurice Edu)
  19. Seattle Sounders FC (Marco Pappa)

For those curious, once the Beasley deal is announced, the order will then look like this:

  1. Columbus Crew
  2. FC Dallas
  3. DC United (swap with Philadelphia on Jan 14)
  4. Vancouver Whitecaps
  5. Chicago Fire
  6. Montreal Impact
  7. San Jose Earthquakes
  8. New England Revolution
  9. Colorado Rapids
  10. Chivas USA (swap with Seattle Sounders on Dec 11)
  11. LA Galaxy
  12. New York Red Bulls
  13. Toronto FC
  14. Portland Timbers
  15. Real Salt Lake
  16. Sporting KC
  17. Philadelphia Union (Maurice Edu)
  18. Seattle Sounders FC (Marco Pappa)
  19. Houston Dynamo (DeMarcus Beasley)