Klinsmann Names 30-Player Preliminary Roster for 2014 FIFA World Cup

Klinsmann Names 30-Player Preliminary Roster for 2014 FIFA World Cup

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On May 12, 2014

The World Cup is so close you can almost smell it.

Jurgen Klinsmann has announced his 30-man preliminary roster for the World Cup in Brazil. Out of the 30 players named, 15 of them hail from Major League Soccer.

The 30 players on the preliminary roster will begin reporting to Palo Alto, California, on May 14 for the start of training camp at Stanford University.

U.S. will play three matches in the Send-Off Series from May 27-June 7 in San Francisco, New York and Jacksonville, Florida. The Send-Off Series kicks off with USA vs. Azerbaijan at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 27, at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. The USA then hosts Turkey at 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, June 1, at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey, before traveling to Jacksonville, Florida, to face Nigeria on June 7 at 6 p.m. ET at EverBank Field

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


– A total of 10 players were also on the preliminary roster for the 2010 FIFA World Cup: Jozy Altidore, DaMarcus Beasley, Alejandro Bedoya, Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Maurice Edu, Clarence Goodson, Brad Guzan and Tim Howard. Bedoya is the only player who did not make the trip to South Africa.

1 Comment

  • May 21 2014
Hi, I enjoy your site for a while! I'm a big soccer fan and interested in the economic side of the game. I've just completed a short presentation about the coming world-cup in Brazil - related to the economic side of the event. I'll be happy if you'll like to embed it in your site, even it's not your primary content (you can edit it if you want. Just log-in and duplicate it): link: http://app.emaze.com/321166/mondial-infographics#slidenum=1 embed: Cheers, Izaack