Update: CCL Draw; Toronto Draws Toughest Group

Update: CCL Draw; Toronto Draws Toughest Group

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On June 5, 2012
  • 2012/13 CCL

The five MLS clubs learned their CCL groups today as Toronto FC learns they have the toughest group of them all.

Tuesday’s draw conducted by CONCACAF Acting General Secretary Ted Howard at the New York headquarters set the match-ups for the tournament, which changed its format by eliminating the Preliminary Round and establishing an initial round of eight, three-team groups.

Only the group winners will advance to the knockout round.

Unlike previous years where a second draw was conducted to set the pairings for the Championship round, the quarterfinals will match the team with the best record against the qualifier with the worst record. The second-best team will face the seventh-best, third against sixth and fourth against fifth.

The top four teams will play the second leg at home.

In the semifinals, the winner of 1-vs-8 will face the winner of 4-vs-5 (with the 1-vs-8 winner hosting the second leg), and likewise 3-vs-6 will play 4-vs-5 (with the survivor of 3-vs-6 hosting the second leg). In the finals, the team that prevails out of the upper bracket of 1-vs-8_4-vs-5 will host the second leg.

The Champions League will begin July 31 and conclude October 26, with the quarterfinals set to begin March 5.

Group 1
Santos Laguna (MEX)
Toronto FC (CAN)
Aguila (SLV)

Group 2
Herediano (CRC)
Real Salt Lake (USA)
Tauro FC (PAN)

Group 3
Olimpia (HON)
Houston Dynamo (USA)

Group 4
Seattle Sounders FC (USA)
Marathon (HON)
Caribbean 1

Group 5
LA Galaxy (USA)
Metapan (SLV)
Caribbean 3

Group 6
Tigres UANL (MEX)
Alajuelense (CRC)
Real Esteli (NIC)

Group 7
Chorillo (PAN)
Monterrey (MEX)
Municipal (GUA)

Group 8
Xelaju (GUA)
Chivas de Guadalajara (MEX)
Caribbean 2