2012 MLS Allocation Order

2012 MLS Allocation Order

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On February 16, 2012
  • 2012 MLS Allocation Order

You have asked, and now you shall receive. Below is the 2012 MLS Allocation Order.

Here’s a little background on the allocation order:

The allocation ranking is the mechanism used to determine which MLS club has first priority to acquire a U.S. National Team player who signs with MLS after playing abroad, or a former MLS player who returns to the League after having gone to a club abroad for a transfer fee. The allocation rankings may also be used in the event two or more clubs file a request for the same player on the same day when the discovery period opens in December. The allocations will be ranked in reverse order of finish for the 2011 season, taking playoff performance into account.

Once the club uses its allocation ranking to acquire a player, it drops to the bottom of the list.  A ranking can be traded, provided that part of the compensation received in return is the other club’s ranking. At all times, each club is assigned one ranking. The rankings reset at the end of each MLS League season.

Eddie Johnson looks to be the first to go through the order. Teams can (and will) pass, so don’t expect the top team to use their spot right away (remember last year with Chivas?).

  1. Montreal Impact
  2. Vancouver Whitecaps
  3. New England Revolution
  4. Toronto FC
  5. Chivas USA
  6. San Jose Earthquakes
  7. DC United
  8. Portland Timbers
  9. Chicago Fire
  10. Columbus Crew
  11. FC Dallas
  12. New York Red Bulls
  13. Philadelphia Union
  14. Colorado Rapids
  15. Seattle Sounders
  16. Sporting Kansas City
  17. Real Salt Lake
  18. Houston Dynamo
  19. LA Galaxy


  • So if Montreal wins MLS Cup this year (yeah right!) and doesn’t use its top Allocation by Dec 2012, it will be number #19 in 2013?