2011 MLS All-Star Game Roster

2011 MLS All-Star Game Roster

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On July 18, 2011
  • 2011 MLS All-Star Game

Forgive me for being a tad late to this party. I’ve been away from the computer for most of the day and I’m starting to catch up here. The 2011 MLS All-Star Game roster was announced this afternoon and for the most part, the 20-man game roster from Hans Backe isn’t too shocking.

Only a couple real shockers, first off is Houston keeper Tally Hall. It’s shocking in a good way really as Hall has really put on a show this season for the Dynamo and is a reason why they are a contender this season. He’s had his bad moments but his good moments are definitely getting noticed. The second surprise to me was Colorado striker Omar Cummings. The Jamaican has been injured for a good chunk of this season, so it was shocking to see his name called up for this game.

More names will be released later who are not apart of the gameday roster. We knew guys from Seattle, Toronto and Dallas would not be involved due to their CCL games coming up. Its a bit shocking that Dallas only has Brek Shea on the inactive roster. You’d think someone like Kevin Hartman or George John would have been named as well.

2011 MLS All-Star Gameday Roster

Goalkeeper: Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Faryd Mondragón (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes), Sean Franklin (LA Galaxy), Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake), Heath Pearce (Chivas USA), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls).

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Jack Jewsbury (Portland Timbers), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Nick LaBrocca (Chivas USA)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Omar Bravo (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Inactive All-Stars (Note that another six inactive All-Stars will be chosen via player voting):

Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Rafa Marquez (New York Red Bulls), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)