US Lands In Group D In 2011 U-17 World Cup

US Lands In Group D In 2011 U-17 World Cup

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On May 17, 2011
  • 2011 U-17 World Cup

The United States Under-17 national team learned the identities of its opponents for the group stage of this summer’s FIFA U-17 World Cup in Mexico.

The US will open Group D play on June 19 against the Czech Republic in Torreon. Three days later they’ll face Uzbekistan in the same venue before traveling to Pachuca for a June 25 encounter against New Zealand.

The United States won the CONCACAF U-17 tournament in February and look to be one of the leaders of this group.┬áNew Zealand won the Oceania U-17 qualifying tournament, Uzbekistan was the runner up in the Asian championships and the Czech Republic finished third in its UEFA U-17 qualifying group to gain it’s bid.

Should the United States win its group, it would face a third-place finisher in the Round of 16.

Here’s all six groups for this summer’s event:


Group A

  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • North Korea
  • Congo

Group B

  • Argentina
  • France
  • Japan
  • Jamaica

Group C

  • England
  • Uruguay
  • Canada
  • Rwanda

Group D

  • United States
  • Czech Republic
  • Uzbekistan
  • New Zealand

Group E

  • Germany
  • Ecuador
  • Panama
  • Burkina Faso

Group F

  • Brazil
  • Ivory Coast
  • Australia
  • Denmark