New CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Proposal On The Table

New CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Proposal On The Table

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On April 27, 2011
  • 2014 World Cup, 2014 World Cup Qualifying, Hexagonal

Just as the hexagonal was thrown out late last year in hopes that CONCACAF would get an extra automatic qualifier in the 2014 World Cup, CONCACAF is back at it again with a new proposal to the FIFA Executive Committee. CONCACAF has submitted a new proposal for the 2014 World Cup qualifying that see the United States and five other highest-ranked teams in the region would begin qualifying in the semifinal round in June of 2012.

The FIFA Executive Committee will review this new proposal at the end of May.

The new preliminary round will consist of 10 countries, playing for five spots in the first round. Those winners and the first-round entrants will go through a group stage featuring six groups of four teams each. Those six group winners will then be entered into another group stage, this one with three groups of four with the US, Mexico, Costa Rica, Cuba, Honduras, and Jamaica.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the hexagonal phase of the qualifying, or the final round if you will. The normal hexagonal qualifying will be intact, as each team will play each other home and away and the top three will advance to the World Cup in Brazil. The forth place team will go into the playoff round just like before.

If this proposal goes through, the US will play up to two fewer qualifying games than in the last couple of World Cup qualifying cycles.

So basically we’re nearly back to where we were with qualifying before CONCACAF changed it up last fall. I believe most fans wanted to see the hexagonal back in play and it’s probably a good thing to have to deal with playing Mexico and other teams like Costa Rica in qualifying. I’m all for this proposal, are you?