No Changes To Spots For 2014 World Cup

No Changes To Spots For 2014 World Cup

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On March 3, 2011
  • 2014 World Cup

Remember that little rumor we discussed the other day about CONCACAF and World Cup spots? Well, that didn’t go as some had hoped.

FIFA sources told the Associated Press today that the six member confederations will receive the same number of World Cup spots for 2014 as they did in 2010. That means no guaranteed fourth spot for CONCACAF.

The report also says that a draw will take place to determine which regions are pared in the playoff rounds.

The division of spots remains UEFA (13), Africa (5), South America (4.5, not including host Brazil), Asia (4.5), North America (3.5), and Oceania (.5).

FIFA will officially announce the World Cup place for 2014 later today.

What does this mean for the US National team and the rest of CONCACAF? Basically winning your group in qualifying is the only guaranteed way of making it to Brazil in 2014. The two runners-up will meet in a playoff to determine the third qualifier for the region and the loser of that will play in the playoff round.

I know this is a set back for the region as it continues to grow in the game but in all honesty this isn’t the worst news in the world. I still believe that until the teams from the region get out of the Round of 16 in the World Cup, CONCACAF should have no reason to lobby for an additional spot.

The biggest loser in this news is South America. Even with Brazil getting an auto-bid the region deserved an additional spot over Africa. I think its a far argument to say the fifth best country in South America (not including Brazil here) is easily better than the 4th or 5th best African team. I’d be even willing to say the 4th best CONCACAF team is on par or better than that 4th or 5th African team.