Awards: Najar and Ricketts Honored

Awards: Najar and Ricketts Honored

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On November 3, 2010
  • Andy Najar, Donovan Ricketts

Andy Najar takes home the league Rookie of the Year honors. (Getty Images)

The first of the MLS season awards have been handed out and one may be a surprise to some. Today the league announced that LA Galaxy keeper Donovan Ricketts is the 2010 Goalkeeper of the Year and that D.C. United midfielder Andy Najar is the league’s Rookie of the Year.

Najar appeared in 26 games during his rookie year, recorded five goals and an assist in league play, earning the team’s Golden Boot award.  At 17, he is the youngest MLS Rookie of the Year and the first Home Grown Player to win the award. Najar also becomes the second D.C. United player to win the award, Ben Olsen won it back in 1998.

Ricketts earned the 2010 Goalkeeper of the Year award after posting a career high 11 shutouts and allowing just 26 goals through 29 games this season. Ricketts finished the regular season with a goals-against average of 0.90. He also helped lead the Galaxy to a record of 18-7-5 and 59 points to capture the coveted Supporters’ Shield. I’m a little bit shocked seeing him win this award considering he had to go up against RSL’s Nick Rimando and Dallas’ Kevin Hartman, both who had very solid seasons.

Other awards announced this morning were Philadelphia Union striker Sebastien Le Toux winning the Individual Fair Play Award and the San Jose Earthquakes winning the Team Fair Play Award.

What do you think of this news? Upset Najar and Ricketts won?