MLS 2010 Award Finalists Announced

MLS 2010 Award Finalists Announced

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On October 27, 2010
  • 2010 MLS Awards

Chris Wondolowski is up for MLS MVP. (Getty Images)

Major League Soccer announced the finalists for their end of season awards today. For the most part I have no issues with any of the finalists as they lined up with how I voted. Maybe my only issue was with Thierry Henry getting votes for newcomer of the year when he hardly played in the final month of the year. But I can see why people voted for him too.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

I’m still trying to figure out when I’ll post my votes, probably sometime tomorrow.

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)
Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)
Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Fair Play Finalists – Individual

C.J. Brown  (Chicago Fire)
Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)
Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls)
Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes)
Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists

Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)
Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)
Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)
Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards)
Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists

Mark Geiger
Kevin Stott
Baldomero Toledo

Rookie of the Year Finalists

Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)
Andy Najar (D.C. United)
Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists

Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls)
Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas)
Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)
Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)
Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy)
David Ferreira (FC Dallas)
Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthqakes)

  • ViperLAG

    Interesting finalists on some of them. I had a good laugh at the “Adidas Referee of the Year” category.
    Seriously, there is not one referee in this league that deserves such an award. Pathetic, absolutely pathetic. Those three finalists were horrible in the matches that I witnessed of them. Mark Geiger’s officiating of the last match of the season btw. the Galaxy & FC Dallas was abysmal. USSF refs are a joke. Thanks Mr. Flynn and Mr. Gulati! Maybe that award should be given to them instead.

    • I can honestly say the Ref of the Year category is the hardest for me each year…why we honor them is a bit crazy I think.