- Posted by Drew Epperley
- On April 15, 2010
- 2 Comments
- Chris Seitz, Jamie Moreno
I had a feeling the US Soccer Federation would have something to say about Jamie Moreno’s goal against Chris Seitz and the Philadelphia Union last week. If you haven’t seen the play just click here, it was a funny little play that the youngster got caught in while the veteran Moreno took full advantage of.
The USSF has a group of people that review officiating in MLS games each week. Here’s what they had to say on the matter:
“The referee [Terry Vaughn] is faced with an attacker who uses trickery (feigning or simulating) to interfere with and negatively influence the goalkeeper’s release of the ball from his hands. On the replay, carefully observe the attacker’s action. He steps toward the keeper twice. The second attempt is calculated and timed precisely to correspond to the goalkeeper’s release of the ball from his hands.
…contact with the ball or the goalkeeper is not needed for an offense to occur. The mere act of attempting to play the ball or influence the goalkeeper’s actions as the goalkeeper releases the ball is a violation.”
FIFA also has pretty clear rules on situations like this. Rules state that “it is an offense for a player to prevent a goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands. A player must be penalized for playing in a dangerous manner if he kicks or attempts to kick the ball when the goalkeeper is in the process of releasing it. It is an offense to restrict the movement of the goalkeeper by unfairly impeding him.”
The goal ended up not mattering in the end as Philadelphia won the game 3-2. Thankfully this isn’t something we see too often but I will say it is positive to hear the USSF reviewing each official and their actions on the field.
Anybody shocked that this goal really should have not been allowed?