US Open Cup Play-In Round Details

US Open Cup Play-In Round Details

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On March 3, 2010
  • 2010 US Open Cup

All the juicy details came down earlier today for this year’s edition fo the US Open Cup. The Major League Soccer teams in it are going to go through their usual set up just as they have these last two years.

The MLS Insider Blog was kind enough to post this video of the coin tosses for the play-in round to see who was hosting which games.

Here is the rest of the info on the tournament:

The six teams that have automatically qualified are the Columbus Crew, LA Galaxy, Houston Dynamo, Seattle Sounders, Chicago Fire and Chivas USA. The remaining nine U.S.-based MLS teams: the New England Revolution, Real Salt Lake, Colorado Rapids, D.C. United, FC Dallas, Kansas City Wizards, San Jose Earthquakes, New York Red Bulls and the Philadelphia Union, will play knockout games to determine the seventh and eighth teams to join the round of 16. New York and Philadelphia will play first to determine New England’s opponent in a round of four knockout games (eight teams).

The teams have been seeded based on 2009 regular season finish and the games will be as follows [home team listed first]:

Game A (8 v 9/Expansion): New York Red Bulls v Philadelphia Union
Game B (1 v 8): Game A Winner v New England Revolutions
Game C (2 v 7): San Jose Earthquakes v Real Salt Lake
Game D (3 v 6): Kansas City Wizards v Colorado Rapids
Game E (4 v 5): D.C. United v FC Dallas
** Play-in games A–E will be completed by the end of April. Teams will announce the date and times of games in the near future.

Game F: Game B winner v Game D winner
Game G: Game C winner v Game E winner

Winner of Games F and G qualify as the final 2 teams in the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.
**Play-in games F & G by will be completed by the end of May. Teams will announce the date and times of games in the near future.