MLS Season Award Finalists Announced

MLS Season Award Finalists Announced

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On November 2, 2009
  • MLS Awards

Hot off the presses from the league front office. Major League Soccer has announced the finalists to their season ending awards today. Only a few shockers jump out at me here with these but I’ll get to that in a moment.

Keeper of the Year (to be announced Nov. 4)
Kasey Keller, Seattle
Donovan Ricketts, Los Angeles
Zach Thornton, Chivas USA

Defender of the Year (Nov. 5)
Geoff Cameron, Houston
Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, Seattle
Chad Marshall, Columbus

Comeback Player of the Year (Nov. 10)
Brian McBride, Chicago
Ben Olsen, DCU
Zach Thornton, Chivas USA

Newcomer of the Year (Nov. 10)
Kasey Keller, Seattle
Freddie Ljungberg, Seattle
Fredy Montero, Seattle

Coach of the Year (Nov. 11)
Bruce Arena, Los Angeles
Sigi Schmid, Seattle
Robert Warzycha, Columbus

Rookie of the Year (Nov. 12)
Stefan Frei, Toronto
Omar Gonzalez, Los Angeles
Chris Pontius, D.C. United

MVP (Nov. 19)
Jeff Cunningham, Dallas
Landon Donovan, Los Angeles
Shalrie Joseph, New England

For me the only two shockers were Chris Pontius for Rookie of the Year and three Sounders up for Newcomer of the Year. While I thought Pontius has a great rookie season I really felt Darrius Barnes had a better season for New England. As for the three Sounders we know Montero will win but I really thought David Ferreira from Dallas deserved a look for this award too. Still Keller and Ljungberg weren’t far off my list as well for it.

So who will win these awards folks? Can Donovan add another trophy to his case this year? Can Thornton take home a couple awards?