Generation Adidas Class Announced

Generation Adidas Class Announced

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On January 7, 2009
  • 2009 MLS SuperDraft, Generation adidas, Marcus Tracey, Mike Grella, MLS Combine

Maryland's Jeremy Hall is one of nine players signed on as a Generation adidas player. (Getty Images)

A few surprises today with the Generation adidas class and MLS Combine rosters being announced. The GA list went out without a hitch from what we discussed yesterday but a couple players were missing from the Combine list that the league ended up missing out on.

Both Marcus Tracey (Wake Forest) and Mike Grella (Duke) have opted not to sign with MLS and instead will look at offers from European clubs. There is still time for the two to sign before next week’s draft but if they don’t this draft class will have taken a big dent with those losses.

As for the GA list, the nine we discussed yesterday were announced today. There is still an outside chance another name could be added to this list but I still doubt that will happen in time.

  • Steve Zakuani
  • Omar Gonzalez
  • Rodney Wallace
  • Jeremy Hall
  • Baggio Husidic
  • Kevin Alston
  • Stefan Frei
  • Peri Marosevic
  • Daniel Cruz

Now as for the Combine information, below is the list of rosters as well as game times for those in the area. Miami fans, you claim to want a team so bad right now…if I were you I’d show up in full force as these games are open to the public. Show your support for the league’s future here, plus it may help get some more people behind you if you do indeed show up for this event. (sorry for the rant, I just couldn’t help it here)

Here are the MLS Combine rosters and schedule of matches:
Complete 2009 adidas MLS Combine Rosters:

adidas adiPure
Alec Dufty (University of Evansville)
Neal Kitson (St. John’s University)
Kwame Adjeman-Pamboe (George Mason University)
Raphael Cox (University of Washington)
Danny Cruz (Generation adidas/University of Nevada Las Vegas)
Juan Guerra (Florida International University)
Jack Traynor (University of Notre Dame)
Darrius Barnes (Duke University)
Matt Besler (University of Notre Dame)
Graciano Brito (Quinnipiac University)
Aaron Clapham (University of Louisville)
Jokull Elisabetarson (University of North Carolina – Greensboro)
Wes Knight (College of Charleston)
Paul Nicholson (Rio Grande University)
Jean Alexandre (Lynn University)
Jordan Seabrook (University of South Florida)
Jeremy Hall (Generation adidas/University of Maryland)
Otto Loewy (Winthrop University)

Coaches: Bobby Clark (University of Notre Dame) and Jeremy Alumbaugh (Springfield United)

adidas Tunit
Stefan Frei (Generation adidas/University of California)
Trevor Banks (Old Dominion University)
Josh Boateng (Liberty University)
AJ DeLaGarza (University of Mayland)
Richard Jata (Campbell Univeristy)
Rodney Wallace (Generation adidas/University of Maryland)
Brandon Barklage (Saint Louis University)
Pav Castenada (Duke University)
Paul Gerstenberger (Boston College)
Andrei Gotsmanov (Creighton University)
Peri Marosevic (Generation adidas/University of Michigan)
Kyle Patterson (Saint Louis University)
Chris Pontius (University of California – Santa Barbara)
Matt Poole (University of Virginia)
Kyle Russell (Coastal Carolina University)
Babajide Ogunbiyi (Santa Clara University)
Daniel Revivo (Winthrop University)

Coaches: Cam Rast (University of Santa Clara) and Marc Nicholls (Greensboro Youth Soccer)

adidas Predator PowerSwerve
Evan Bush (University of Akron)
Sean Milligan (Dartmouth University)
Quincy Amarikwa (University of California – Davis)
Oscar Castillo (University of Connecticut)
Jeffery Harwell (Southern Methodist University)
Keum Sung Kim (Loyola University)
Akeem Priestly (University of Connecticut)
Lyle Adams (Wake Forest University)
Rhett Bernstein (Brown University)
Sam Cronin (Wake Forest University)
Doug DeMartin (Michigan State University)
Bryan Irwin (University of Portland)
Yohance Marshall (University of South Florida)
Ryan Mirsky (Southern Methodist University)
Patrick Murray (Furman University)
Steve Zakuani (Generation adidas/University of Akron)
Nick Zimmerman (James Madison University)
Omar Gonzalez (Generation adidas/University of Maryland)

Coaches: Caleb Porter (University of Akron) and Bobby Muuss (University of Denver)

adidas Tiro
Steward Ceus (University of Albany)
Milos Kocic (Loyola College (Md.))
Ryan Maxwell (University of Tampa)
Michael Lahoud (Wake Forest University)
Chris Salvaggione (UNC – Charlotte)
Kevin Alston (Generation adidas/Indiana University)
Calum Angus (Saint Louis University)
Evan Brown (Wake Forest University)
Graham Zusi (University of Maryland)
Chris Clements (University of Tulsa)
Dylan Curtis (University of California – Davis)
Alex Grendi (University of Pennsylvania)
David Hertel (Michigan State University)
Ryan Maduro (Providence College)
Baggio Husidic (Generation adidas/University of Illinois – Chicago)
George John (University of Washington)
Ross Schunk (Redlands University)
Nick Perera (University of California – Santa Barbara)

Coaches: Chaka Daley (Providence College) and Janusz Michallik (National Director of SoccerPlus Camps)

All games are open to the public. All times eastern and schedule is subject to change.

Saturday, January 10
2:30 PM Predator PowerSwerve vs. adidas Tunit (Lockhart Stadium)
4:30 PM adiPure vs. adidas Tiro (Lockhart Stadium)
Sunday, January 11
3:00 PM adidas Tunit vs. adidas Tiro (Lockhart Stadium)
5:00 PM Predator PowerSwerve vs adiPure (Lockhart Stadium)
Tuesday, January 13
9:15 AM Predator PowerSwerve vs adidas Tiro (Lockhart Stadium)
11:15 AM adiPure vs adidas Tunit (Lockhart Stadium)