Marshall Wins Defender of the Year

Marshall Wins Defender of the Year

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On November 6, 2008
  • Chad Marshall, Defender of the Year, MLS Awards

For most people Chad Marshall was the best defender in the league this year. I may have not voted for the guy but I can’t argue that fact that he was so dominate this year for Columbus. He’s big, physical and a guy that should get looked at for minutes by the US National Team.

Marshall just edged out Kansas City’s Jimmy Conrad and Chicago’s Bakary Soumare.

His stats should speak for themselves. Marshall started and played 29 games during the regular season. He helped the Crew capture their second Supporters’ Shield trophy. Marshall scored four goals in 2008, tied for fifth on the team with striker Steven Lenhart.

Marshall goes down with some of the best defenders in the league history by winning this award. Here are the past winners:

2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

Not bad company really. Congrats to Marshall and the Crew for this award. He definitely deserved it.

  • Jose M. Burgos

    Good for Marshall. He is a good player. He totally deserves the award.<br />
    <br />
    Ready for tonight?<br />
    <br />
    Vamos Fire!!!!

  • Good for Marshall. He is a good player. He totally deserves the award.

    Ready for tonight?

    Vamos Fire!!!!

  • Cannon Girl

    Next year's gonna be Ryan Cochrane's year! 🙂

  • Cannon Girl

    Next year’s gonna be Ryan Cochrane’s year! 🙂