Busch, Parkhurst Honored By League

Busch, Parkhurst Honored By League

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On November 4, 2008
  • Goalkeeper of the Year, Jon Busch, Michael Parkhurst, MLS Fair Play Award

Three awards were handed down today by Major League Soccer. Goalkeeper of the Year as well as both team and individual Fair Play awards.

Chicago Fire goalkeeper Jon Busch was voted the 2008 Panasonic Goalkeeper of the Year. New England Revolution defender Michael Parkhurst was named the winner of the MLS Fair Play award, and the Revolution earned the MLS Team Fair Play award, recognizing the MLS club with the fewest disciplinary points during the 2008 regular season.

Busch had a stellar year thanks in some part to having an injury free year and a strong defense in front of him. The 32-year old started and played every minute (2,700) of all 30 regular season games for Chicago. He led the club to a second place finish in the Eastern Conference (13-10-7) and ranked first in MLS in shutouts (10), was tied for second in wins (13) and second in goals against average (1.10).

Busch is also up for Comeback Player of the Year award.

Parkhurst is claiming his second consecutive MLS Fair Play Award. He becomes the third player to win the award twice and second to do it in consecutive seasons. Steve Ralston, his New England teammate, won the award in consecutive years in 1999 and 2000. Mark Chung is the other two-time winner.

The New England Revolution claimed the Team Fair Play award for accumulating the fewest disciplinary points (300) of any team during the 2008 regular season. As stated by the league’s website, disciplinary points are assigned as follow: 4 points for each caution received, 10 points for each red card, 0.50 points for each foul committed and a reduction of 15 points for each game that a team completes without receiving any cards or action from the MLS Disciplinary Committee.

Two more awards will be handed out this week on Thursday with the Referee of the Year and the Defender of the Year.