Updated: MLS Allocation Order

Updated: MLS Allocation Order

  • Posted by Drew Epperley
  • On August 20, 2008
  • Allocation List, Trades

A few of you have been asking since last night, so here it is. Thanks to LA’s trade with Toronto and their signing of Eddie Lewis the new order goes as follows:

1. New York Red Bulls
2. FC Dallas
3. Chivas USA
4. DC United
5. Kansas City Wizards
6. Chicago Fire
7. Columbus Crew
8. Houston Dynamo
9. Real Salt Lake
10. San Jose Earthquakes
11. New England Revolution
12. Colorado Rapids
13. LA Galaxy
14. Toronto FC

Now I’m not sure if the Lewis claim will be recognized first and before Toronto claim of Johann Smith OR if the league will just go in order of who was signed first, and if that was the case then just switch LA and Toronto at the bottom.

Now the top three looks interesting here. New York won’t make any moves, you can count on that since no one will come through the allocation system that they will be interested in. I’d be interesting to see if anyone else tries to trade up with them for that top spot in the coming weeks. The Red Bulls were looking to get some extra allocation money to sign a USL player, so it could happen if they really are desperate for a striker.


  • Aug 20 2008
Why not Wiltord to New York?
  • Aug 20 2008
Why not Wiltord to New York?